Tchaikovsky and Dvorak

This coming Saturday (19th June), the Hawke’s Bay Orchestra and invited guest players will perform two of the world’s most loved works: Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 6 ‘Pathetique’ and Dvorak’s sublime Cello Concerto.

Performing the Dvorak with the orchestra is soloist Andrew Joyce, principal cellist with the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra (NZSO).

Before joining the NZSO in September 2010, Andrew spent five years freelancing in London, during which time he worked regularly with the London Symphony and London Philharmonic Orchestras, touring and performing in the world’s great concert halls. 

He also played as Guest Principal with Northern Sinfonia, Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra and the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. A dedicated chamber musician, Andrew co-founded the Puertas Quartet who have performed in both the UK and New Zealand to great critical acclaim. He performs regularly in a trio with pianist Diedre Irons and NZSO Concertmaster, Vesa-Matti Leppanen.

The Dvorak Cello Concerto is one of the two most performed cello concertos in the world (the other being by Elgar). Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No.6 is the composer’s final completed symphony, written in 1893 and titled ‘Pathetique’ which comes from the Russian word Pateticheskaya, meaning passionate or emotional, rather than the French translation meaning solemn or emotive. And believe me, as a cellist both are beautifully exhausting, lyrical, emotionally charged works.

Saturday 19 June, 7.30pm

Waiapu Cathedral, Browning Street, Napier

Tickets Adults $35, Tertiary Students $10, Supergold Card $32, Free for 17 and under.Available either through iTICKET or at the door (eftpos available).

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.