Preliminary results were announced Friday, with final results to come Monday the 27th.

Given the wide margins in both wards contested, it’s safe to announce these winners.

In the Heretaunga Ward, Hana Montaperto-Hendry, currently with 1,232 votes and a 821 vote margin over her closest competitor.

In the Takitimu Māori Ward, Heather Te Au-Skipworth, currently with 1,000 votes and a 722 vote margin over her closest competitor.

Only 29% of eligible persons voted in the Heretaunga Ward; only 16% in the Takitimu Ward.

Not exactly a stunning display of local democracy at work.

Nevertheless, congratulations to the successful candidates, and kudos to the others who put themselves forward.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *